Friday, 18 July 2014 18:22

Felices son los estupidos

A measure of humility comes with attempts to speak another language.

Published in Seriously Funny
Thursday, 26 December 2013 18:38

Ghosts of Christmas past

It’s a beautiful irony of human experience that we work so hard to keep things static, and all the while they are always constantly changing.

Published in Talk With the Preacher
Thursday, 14 November 2013 17:32

Don’t suck

If you’re answering a call to professional ministry, please don’t suck. This work is too important for anything less than excellent.

Published in Talk With the Preacher
Thursday, 31 October 2013 17:18

Unwrapping the church

Questions about identity and calling in a congregation are rarely answered with the application of prepackaged strategies.

Published in Talk With the Preacher
Friday, 18 October 2013 16:39

At church with the Carters

Gathering for worship is a big deal, whether or not the congregation includes a former president of the United States.

Published in Seriously Funny
Thursday, 17 October 2013 16:58

The worst new church member speech ever

“Take up your cross and follow” can be a hard sell in a consumer culture.

Published in Talk With the Preacher
Friday, 16 August 2013 12:41

Snake charmers

Who knows? Maybe the upcoming reality series on snake-handling preachers will inspire a bevy of church-related viewing fare.

Published in Seriously Funny
Thursday, 08 August 2013 14:34

On-the-job training

After a decade in ministry, a pastor shares lessons that they didn’t teach in seminary.

Published in Talk With the Preacher
Thursday, 25 July 2013 17:24

Why church matters

To know fully why church is an important part of life takes more than the pastor saying so.

Published in Talk With the Preacher
Friday, 19 July 2013 18:53

I had no choice but write this column

Justin Bieber’s 40 million followers on Twitter are more easily explained than this guy’s adoring fans.

Published in Seriously Funny
Page 1 of 3